Universiti Putra Malaysia

July 6, 2021

The Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) is one of Malaysia’s oldest universities. It was founded in 1931 as an agricultural school. UPM’s agricultural competence remains a strength, as evidenced by the university’s accreditation as one of Malaysia’s premier research institutions, particularly in agricultural sciences and allied disciplines.

The main campus of UPM is in Serdang, Selangor, with two other campuses in Sarawak and Terengganu. Agriculture, engineering, medicine, veterinary medicine, business, languages, and social sciences are among the programs offered by the institution.

Walailak University and UPM have a Memorandum of Understanding for Academic Cooperation, as well as numerous academic cooperation initiatives. UPM sent students to study alongside students from Walailak University, while Walailak students attended UPM’s academic camp and lecture as well. Walailak University also sent staff to learn about the university’s administrative functions. Students from both universities previously participated in fieldwork and joint research in Thasala, Nakhon Si Thammarat.