The State University of Surabaya

July 2, 2021

The State University of Surabaya (Indonesian: Universitas Negeri Surabaya) is a public university locating in Surabaya, the capital of the province of East Java and the second-largest city in Indonesia. The University was established in 1964 and was formerly known as IKIP Surabaya (Surabaya Institute of Teaching and Education Sciences). 

The State University of Surabaya have seven faculties and offer several programs covering various disciplines such as education, languages and arts, mathematics and natural science, social sciences, engineering, sports sciences, and economics. The State University of Surabaya also has long experience in organizing international activities and collaboration, such as the students and academic staff exchange programs, research collaboration, instructional development, and cultural exchange program, with many universities in several countries. 

Since 2017, Walailak University has had an official partnership with the State University of Surabaya. Since then, the two universities have collaborated on numerous projects. Walailak University’s “WU Field Experience Project” invited Indonesian students to learn Thai art and culture, as well as participate in cultural trips and homestays, and in exchange, they will be buddies and teach Indonesian to Walailak’s students. At the same time, the State University of Surabaya accepted students from Walailak University to participate in the “Cooperative Education Partnership” program. Furthermore, as part of the “Study Abroad” program, Walailak University sent students to UNESA to learn advanced Indonesian. 

Currently, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the School of Political Science and Laws is still collaborating with the State University of Surabaya via an online platform. For example, the school is providing online classes for Indonesian students from the State University of Surabaya to learn Basic Thai Language, including online joint classroom in some courses.